history

Finally, the way it should have been near a decade ago

My own and favorite car of all times (Saab 900 Classic) changed ownership and license plates as well few days ago…

First… 🙂

I want to congratulate new owner on making her ride in the best possible manner, to enjoy as much as I did while driving this beautiful beast, to make sure there is always enough required liquids in their tanks, to wave back to other Saab owners no matter which model they have, to proudly defend all flaws this car has, to find her way with it like I did not long ago…

Second but not the last 😦

As a driver for almost 15 years now I was looking forward to a day when I will be able to take friend for a ride from Belgrade to Budapest or Vienna just for fun of it in my own car and not to prepare all sorts of papers to leave the country. There was numerous of legislative rules which needed to be made between EU and Serbia so that can happen. We took the longest way.

After a decade of wars has ended and we all believed better days are coming. It was still not late for us to catch-up with the rest of the world. Serbia had to wait another decade to change a simple thing as the licensing procedure of our cars. I was not able to wait long enough and see that in person. I left… But the last car I had, the 25 year old Saab now has proper license plates, it has to have inspection two times a year and it can take friends anywhere anytime! Just like it should be, long time ago.

Someone told me it takes another ten to fifteen days for paperwork to be made? Probably computer program and printer working to fast so operators are confused, scared and bitching on the damn device. I suppose no one like new method so it takes another two weeks for a peace of paper to find its way out through manual inspection?!?!? Not to mention you might have to have special invitation letter from local bar in Budapest translated, notarized and 500 Euros in cash so ones can leave the country.  Oh, well… Another decade to spent.

Good luck!

And the last ( two photos to prove)

2 thoughts on “Finally, the way it should have been near a decade ago

  1. Today when I am officially becoming Saab driver, I give my word of honor that I will make sure there is always enough required liquids in their tanks, wave back to other Saab owners no matter which model they have and proudly defend all flaws this car has!

    🙂

    With this kind of gentleman on the road, I will easily find my way and enjoy the ride.

    First itinerary should include: Belgrade, Krakow, Prague, Amsterdam, Belgrade.

    Thank you, dear, once more, I appreciate it big time!

    Hugs&kisses

Leave a Reply

